Monday November 3, 2008

 

 

Dear Blog….

 

I received many emails and birthday greetings yesterday and today. I wish I could answer all of them in person but that’s impossible. I appreciate all of them. They’ve all meant a lot to me.

 

However, I got one email which was disturbing. It was a happy birthday wish but it also said, “Enjoy it while you can because your Lewy Body Disease will catch up with you very soon and you will be dead in just a few years. It goes fast you know. This could even be your last birthday.” Now, I really don’t know how to handle this one. Very uncanny. I had just started to read Dr. Thomas Graboys’ book, “Life in the Balance” yesterday afternoon. Reading about the severity of his illness and then opening up that email about an hour later wasn’t good timing. I think the writer probably meant well but I don’t think it was probably thought through to realize the negative impact it had on me. But the optimist in me has already started to overcome that. I’ve learned to expect most anything when dealing with people. Basically, I like to think people are good. Maybe it’s just that I’m too sensitive right now and took it the wrong way. I’ll just move right along, though. And Pam is very optimistic too. She tells me I will live many many long years! That helps a lot, believe me.

 

Speaking of Pam. She and I had our regular primary care Dr. visit today. She’s been tired and lethargic for sometime now but it’s been getting worse. She is so fatigued that she can hardly move and she sleeps alot. Low and behold, she is deficient in potassium, iron and vitamin D. The vitamin D level was real low. No wonder she’s tired. So she came away with a hefty dose of potassium, iron and a new preparation of 1x/week vitamin D…I think 50,000 units. So I help all this stuff begins to help her soon.

 

Dr. gave me some samples of Enablex. Since I don’t have any other symptoms consistent with diabetes or prostate disease, she’s not totally sure if the frequent urination is part of the Lewy Body Disease or not. One of it’s claim to fame is that it isn’t supposed to affect the central nervous system. Hope it works. Getting up 4-5 times/night is a pain. And I need good sleep to stay alert.

 

Got to thinking today. I miss working with Howard and George in the Medical Director’s Office. They are 2 of the finest, conscientious psychiatrists I know. Hope they are doing well. Howard works so hard but I keep telling him that he needs to retire and to enjoy life. George is enjoying life since he’s now retired. We used to work sooo hard together but had fun laughing and joking at the same time. I think it kept us sane. Thanks, guys. Hope you’re both doing well.

 

Tonight is Monday, time for the LBD chat on Yahoo. I’ve tried to get into the chat room for a couple of weeks but to no avail. I’ll try again tonight and see what happens.

 

Thanks to everyone who sent the uplifting and encouraging emails……….

 

Trivia which I learned today:   Maine is the only state whose name is just one syllable.

 

I’m having all kinds of thoughts and feelings as I read Graboys’ book. Will be writing them down soon.

 

David

2 Responses

  1. Oh David, I have worked in the mental health field as staff personnel for over 15 years and have heard it all….but this unsavory email to you was just plain mean…..and some people are…..just plain mean. Of course, like you….I thought maybe they didn’t quite mean it as it sounded….but alas, when we speak to someone, it is important to consider how our words impact that person.

    my belated birthday wishes go out to you today and sincere feelings that you will be around for future birthdays….I know I will be emailing you next year ! for sure….!!!

    each day I read your blog and think of you…..My daughter, also in the Mental Health Field….lived in Wynnewood PA while doing her grad work at Penn. She achieved her doctorate in Experimental Psychology. Unfortunately she has moved to California, the Stanford University area because her husband ,my son in law, was wooed away from Penn for his expertise in Senior Facility expertise. Laura did her grad work at Moss Rehab Research Institute. She loved her work with seniors and ended up with patients with strokes on the left side of the brain. She will continue to work in the field, as soon as she settles in from the move.

    My work began as simple staff, then to management and finally to the billing challenge. I am one of those who love the challenge…and the challenge being….getting my docs paid. Every day is a challenge and a new learning…..so much so, my staff psychiatrist just went NO INSURANCE THIS YEAR. So far we are doing okay….we still bill Medicare, some of my favorite patients are my seniors…..but next year we will discontinue that also. We ask for reduce fees and payment at time of visit. All of his patients have stayed except one….and we still get a few new paitnets that are willing to see him becasue of his pharmacology expertise. He is wonderful….and supports his staff fully. So it is a joy to work for him, going on almost 8 years now….

    I have learned an incredible amount of new information following you and your life story. I am sad when I don’t see a message from you, thinking that maybe that a particular day is not good for you…..and happy when I get a new message in your daily dairy. I wish that my daughter still lived in PA, because I would come and see you…bring you new yarn to fondle, and just sit and spend some quality time with a new person in my life’s journey.

    I hope you don’t mind my blathering….. with good thoughts for your day……and tomorrow…..

    marion,,, who is knitting a Chrryl Oberle shawl for an xmas gift. ,

  2. Marion…………….what a refreshing and uplifting comment! Oh, yea, I’ll be here waiting on the yarn! Smile, smile. Wow, a Cheryl Oberle………….nice.

    David

Leave a Reply

