Tuesday November 4, 2008

 

Dear Blog….

 

Thank God it’s finally here. Election Day. Enough already with those political ads! It seems like it has been the longest presidential campaign I ever remember. America will tell us in a few more short hours. What will the comedians do now? What will the talk shows talk about? What will CNN, FOX and MSNBC now discuss? We’ll see. I’m curious.

 

Something new I learned today — Your ears secrete more earwax when you are afraid than when you aren’t. The chemicals and hormones released when you are afraid could be having unseen effects on your body in the form of earwax. Studies have suggested that fear causes the ears to produce more of the sticky substance, though the reasons are not yet clear.

 

Knitting. I mastered this knitting technique called Portuguese knitting. Another new thing I learned…..good for the brain. Actually, it is kind of neat. You wrap the yarn around your neck just like they did in the days of old. For knitters, they’d appreciate the fact that this technique makes purling a cinch. I find, though, that it helps cut down on the right rotator cuff pain when I knit. So maybe I’ll stick to this Portuguese style for awhile.

 

As I read Graboys’ book, Life in the Balance, I have strong mixed emotions   oh something wrong is happening i’m getting hot and sweAty aznd stazrting to feel confused i have to go for now

3 Responses

  1. David,

    Where did you read about the earwax and fear? Please let those of us who have inquiring minds know where we can go to read more on the subject. Just to let you know-your blog is one of my favorite reads, you are an interesting man with a lot to share. Thank you for sharing your ideas, your thoughts, and your “finds”, I really liked the games. Hoping your feeling better.

    Cindy

    p.s. Yeah to no more election commercials…I wonder if the network profits will decline now???

  2. ”The physiologic factors that control the sebaceous glands in the ear canal are not fully known. However, the function of the modified apocrine (ceruminous) sweat glands has been well established. Perry (1957) studied cerumen production by direct visualization of the skin of the distal portion of the external auditory canal of 150 subjects. He found that smooth muscle stimulants (pitocin), adrenergic drugs (epinephrine and norepinephrine), and the emotional states of anxiety, fear, and pain resulted in an increased production of apocrine sweat. In addition, rubbing or cleaning the canal wall resulted in a mechanical ”milking” of the cerumenous glands. In some cases, vigorous chewing caused distortions of the ear canal that caused the same milking effect.”
    – Journal of the American Academy of Audiology Volume 8, Number 6, December 199, p.392

  3. I have enjoyed discovering your blog today and will be sharing it with readers of my blog 🙂 Having just had to deal with an earwax cleaning I found your information on this topic especially intriguing and, I must admit, a bit humorous as well :).

    I also wanted to pass on the title of an excellent book I read when my dad was ill – “My Journey Into Alzheimer’s Disease” by Robert Davis. He, too, wrote after his diagnosis and it really helped me to understand what was going on, as your site is doing as well.

    God bless you.
    Kaye

Leave a Reply

