Thursday November 6, 2008

 

 

redbasketweaveDear Blog:

 

Feeling perky today!    

 

I’ve managed to conquer the Portuguese style of knitting. I’m making this very easy simple sharp looking winter scarf.  I need to get the concept ingrained into my brain. Practice, practice and more practice. 

 

Something new that I learned today:  Upper and lower case letters are named “upper” and “lower” because in the time when all original print had to be set in individual letters, the upper case letters were stored in the case on top of the case that stored the lower case letters.

 

Thanks to John H., I added this game link to the Brain Training section on the right. It’s from Prevention. I read their magazine every month and find it very helpful!

 

Pam and I talked last night about Lewy Body Dementia and the last couple of days and my being confused. I told her it was as if someone had suddenly turned off a light switch. I was aware that the switch had turned off and that I was trying to turn it back on but became more confused in the process until I couldn’t remember where the light switch was. Then suddenly last evening, the light magically turned on again. That’s the best that I can explain it. So very bizarre. And to lose that control. Maybe that’s the scary part to me. Pam said that the neighbor was burning leaves. I smelled the smoke and thought it was the end of the world and that a tornado was coming. I can smile about it now. But I don’t remember it.

 

The York Daily Record called me to verify my letter to them about November being National Caregivers Month. They are publishing it in their newspaper and have put it in their blog.

 

I’m going to mulch the grass and leaves this afternoon. It’ll probably be the last time for the year. We’re supposed to get rain and snow for the next 4 days after having our 4 lovely days of sun and high 60 degree temperatures.

Tomorrow we’re going out of town so maybe I won’t have a chance to blog. But then I’ll have lots to say on Saturday.

 

David

5 Responses

  1. David,

    You knit so beautifully. Everyday I intend to pick my needles up and start back on my latest sweater, but other things seem to get in the way.

    I wanted you to know how much your blog has helped me finally get through my denile and anger and finally accept my husband’s illness. I think I truly had my turning point when I read (and printed) your “Caregiver Pointers”. I can’t tell you how much those words have helped me. I keep my printout right here at my computer and read them daily. Would you mind if I contributed these pointers to the Yahoo Caregiver’s group?

    I wish you well today and for many days to come.

  2. You dear man..each time I read your inner thoughts, I applaud..
    I just returned from the Friends Of MIND Symposium in Boston where I hobnobbed with the scientists, researchers, and dedicated individuals working toward an end to Neurodegenerative Disorders. If you ever have a chance to visit Building 114 in Charlestown (Boston) MA, the folks there will be happy to show you around..to see firsthand what they are doing. I spoke to the attendees, maybe 60 people either experiencing one of the many neuro-disorders, or who have friends and loved ones in that category on the subject of the Role of Private Philanthropy. Our Carmen Foundations is now within reach of our first level goal..to meet our Challenge grant in the next two years, we will raise $400,000 more to meet the $1million goal we issued last year. We will match donations made to MIND/The Carmen Challenge. Please pass this on to those who may have even a few dollars to support the end of these miserable mind-robbing diseases.
    Meanwhile, your knitting reminds me of the hand-stitching I do while sitting with my dear husband a good part of each day..every stitch a step toward the CURE.
    With much respect and understanding, Marjorie Carmen

  3. Hi David,
    I love the fact that you are knitting. I think it’s good on so many levels. It keeps your brain functioning, it helps relax you, you learn new stitches, and most of all you enjoy it.

    You post brought back many memories for me. To refresh your memory, my husband Howard was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s Disease in 1993, and in 2000, they changed the diagnosis. He lost bits and pieces of memory, but no one can tell that unless you know him well. His dedication, and (word loss here) but anyway, he makes sure everything is put away the same way, he doesn’t like changing his routine and he is careful and able to hide some things when he gets confused. .

    He also talked about the confusion, how some days were better than others, how things went into his brain, but came out as if from a sieve.

    Now, he knows that frustration, and stress, bring back a certain amount of confusion, but he says he won’t let it happen. He just forgets about it, takes a nap, and that helps. We’ve been through a great deal of stress lately, and I can tell it is bothering him. But we will get through it because in the long run, he is okay.

    I am no longer a caregiver, but David, I am so glad I self published my book, Behind The Mask, which is truly every caregivers story. And because of that book, I am now devoting my life to Adopt A Caregiver. This is my new journey. I want to help the caregivers, who give their all…

    Keep love and kisses in your life and love to Pam. helene
    I wish love and kisses could change your life.
    http://www.helenemoorecom
    read my blog

  4. Hey David, is that the one in the picture ypur work? That is pretty amazing. Maybe I can do one for myself this winter. As you said, Practice, practice and practice.

    Regards,
    John

  5. I did not know that November is national caregivers month. I certainly will note that on my blogs.

    You know my husband learned how to knit at Walter Reed Hospital when he was there getting therapy from a shattered arm. My husband made beautiful shawls that he was able to sell for quite a bit of money. So there was a plus side to him having to go through this experience.

    Later in life I taught myself to knit and crochet. It is very relaxing but I have to be careful or I get trigger thumb and my hands stiffen. I have learned to use an exercise ball to squeeze to loosen my hands up. Believe you me it works! They are called stress balls here where I live.

Leave a Reply

