Using Laugher and Jokes to Cope with Forgetting and Confusion

I had to laugh at myself the other day. Pam and I came home from grocery shopping. I went to the mailbox for the mail. I remember saying, “Oh, Chad got a movie today from Netflix. I had the mail in my hand and began to unload the groceries bags from the trunk. I brought them all into the house and put them in the kitchen. Pam put the groceries away without further ado.

Later that day, Pam asked me where I put the mail. I remember looking at her strangely and having a disconcerted and stupefied feeling. “I don’t know. I had it in my hand. I remember telling you that Chad’s movie came.” She agreed. But where was the mail? I had a total loss of memory. It was a different feeling than when I normally forget something and know that I’ll eventually find it. Different that a temporary thought block.

 

We searched and searched. I went outside in the blowing wind and snow to recheck the mailbox. I looked in the car. Trunk, front seats, back seats, under the seats, in the glove department. Perused the driveway and front walk tracing my tracks I used when unloading the groceries. We looked at every possible place that we could think of when we bring groceries into the house. In cupboards, in the garbage, in the refrigerator. I felt guilty. A bad boy. My fault. I deserve to be punished. And I’m not even a Catholic!  icon_lol1

 

I won’t hammer the point. Finally Pam checked the spare bedroom. There was a WalMart bag with some candy tins she bought but never took them out of the bag. Bet you can’t guess where I put the mail?!?!

 

To this very moment, I do not remember placing the mail into any bag! It’s been bothering me since if feels like an alcoholic blackout — never to be retrieved from memory again. But I have to laugh about it. I can write a blog on the computer and navigate websites but yet had a moment of forgetting and confusion. It surely doesn’t make any sense. At this point, I am not even going to try to analyze it.

 

Speaking of humor……………here’s a cute one.

 

A new pastor moved into town and went out one Saturday to visit his parishioners. All went well until he came to one house. It was obvious that someone was home, but no one came to the door even after he had knocked several times. Finally, he took out his card and wrote on the back: Revelation 3:20 and stuck it in the door. The next day, as he was counting the offering he found his card in the collection plate. Below his message was the notation Genesis 3:10. Revelation 3:20 reads: “Behold I stand at the door and knock. If any man hear my voice, and opens the door, I will come in to him, and will dine with him, and he with me.” Genesis 3:10 reads: “And he said, I heard thy voice in the garden, and I was afraid, because I was naked.” 
 
A new word I learned today:

Lucullan \loo-KUHL-uhn\, adjective:   rich; magnificent and luxurious

 

Quote of the day:

The person who knows how to laugh at himself will never cease to be amused.(Shirley MacLaine)

 David

2 Responses

  1. Humor is the saving grace. We laugh a lot- the more LBD disrupts Mother’s life the more we laugh- its either that or cry.

  2. Hi David,

    I loved your letter. I have had forgetful times like that myself. Very Blank. I may find the object later and never recall having put it there. Yes, it is a wierd feeling. I so much appreciated your indulgent laugh at yourself. That was a good one, and the joke was a wonderful followup.
    Imogene

Leave a Reply

