Vote for the Font of Your Choice

I have had quite a few emails requesting that I change the font size in order to facilitate reading. Many of the readers are telling me they have poor eyesight and would like a switch. I am certainly willing to oblige. I’ve listed several types of fonts below, all of them either 12 or 14 in size. I think most of those asking for a change would appreciate it if all the readers would cast their vote for font which they find the easiest to read without any eye strain.    Instead of emailing me, you can vote by simply clicking on the COMMENT button. All you will have to do is enter “Arial 12,” “Verdana 14,” “Century Gothic 12,” etc. If you are undecided, go ahead and list several but please place them in order of your preference. You may keep your vote anonymous in the COMMENT section by eliminating your name and email address. If you enter an email address, it is only visible by me. Many thanks on behalf of us who are visually handicapped!!

  

Arial 12

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

Arial 14

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

 

 

Arial Narrow 12

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

Arial Narrow 14

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

 

 

Century Gothic 12

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

Century Gothic 14

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

 

 

Century Schoolbook 12

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

Century Schoolbook 14

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

 

 

Comic Sans MS 12

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

Comic Sans MS 14

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

 

 

Courier New 12

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

Courier New 14

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy 1234567890

 

 

Georgia 12

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

Georgia 14

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

 

 

Lucida Sans 12

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

Lucida Sans 14

The quick brown fox jumps over the dog 1234567890

 

 

Times New Roman 12

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

Times New Roman 14

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

 

 

Trebuchet MS 12

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

Trebuchet MS 14

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

 

 

Verdana 12

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

Verdana 14

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 12345678

 

21 Responses

  1. Arial 12
    But I have no trouble reading…. thanks for asking and being flexible!!! xoxo 🙂

  2. I don’t have any trouble reading it, but I like Century Gothic 12 just for the look!

  3. Arial 12. The darker print acts up with my astigmatism.

    DrP

  4. Verdana 14 looks good to me

  5. David,

    I tried to comment and got kicked off to some strange page.
    It happens. Gremlins abound.

    It’s not only people with vision problems who appreciate
    a larger type. I work on a laptop and am often increasing
    the type size so I can read it easily without having to lean
    in which is an ergonomic strain.

    I vote for any of the size 14’s, all easy to read. Thanks
    for thinking of this.

    nm

  6. Georgia 14 or Lucinda 14. But it isn’t a big issue to me

  7. Thanks David Arial 14 or Verdana work 4 me. I have real trouble with print this small.

  8. I vote for any of the size 14’s- much easier on the eyes.

  9. Egad,so many choices.Any of the bold ones work better for me.I didn’t really have a problem with the print before.It does look clearer when you see the differences side by side.
    Jackie

  10. Arial and Verdana – both 14

  11. Most browsers can increase the size of the type while you are reading it. Firefox, for example, uses the shortcut Command+. It’s also in the View–>Zoom menu.
    Other browsers should be able to do that, too. So we can each choose the size we like!

  12. I admit being one of the people who asked for a different font to help make it easier to read. Maybe I’m more nuts then I thought because all the fonts look the same on this page and I know they are not the same.

    Funny thing is I have astigmatism pretty bad too and the darker font doesn’t bother my eyes. Vision problems are weird.

    More important than size, is a font that has more darkness/thickness (“more meat on the bones”) and fonts with more “straight” lines tend to be an easier read for the eyes.

    Looking at font types in the word processing package, here’s the vote from my “eyes” personal preferences:
    Verdana 12
    Lucida Sans 14
    Century Gothic 14

  13. Whatever you printed the “Vote for the Font of Your Choice’ paragrah in is just fine for me. (Arial 12?) With a 17” screen and blended bifocals with prism, am all set! Please, just nothing fancy, as I do not have binocular vision, and any narrow stuff that is close definately is out for me! The wider apart the letters are, the better, and the clearer, and more like the regular school alphabet they are, the better so I can easily make them out. My brain seems to really like the Arial or New Roman 12 or 14 (but not bold). Thanks.

  14. I like Arial 12, Century Schoolbook 12, Trebuchet MS 12, and Verdana 12, with no preference between those choices.

    Regarding Howard’s comments about being able to use the browser to zoom in. I just got a new computer with Vista, and it does have this zoom feature, which I love. But my old computer (vintage 2001) ran Windows ME, and I don’t believe it had a zoom feature. So for those with older computers, the font you use does make a big difference in readability.

  15. Verdana 12

  16. I fear you may have opened a can or worms! Finding a solution that suits the majority – and the minorities – could be very hard. There could be a case for sticking with the default WordPress font on the grounds that the people who chose it were trying to please as many reader as possible.

    However, having been invited to vote here goes …

    I suffer from myopia, presbyopia, astigmatism, and distortion caused by epiretinal membrane, and I wear varifocals. I’ve recently bought new glasses and a new good quality 22″ screen.

    Unfortunately a larger font seems to make things worse, not better for me. Large fonts were even more of a problem when I was using a laptop with a small screen.

    I find Verdana 11 easiest to read with my particular combination of eyesight and screen ie what you used for your recent post:

    “AIDS Dementia is not the same as Alzheimer’s disease, though many of the symptoms are identical. Symptoms of AIDS dementia complex include: …”

    However if you decide to make a change then I find Trebuchet MS 12 the next best – possibly because it is the smallest!

    I also feel, though, that if you decide to choose a font that’s a little uncomfortable for 90% of readers to enable 10% of potential readers to read your blog who otherwise wouldn’t be able to, then that’s fine by me.

    Good luck with the decision!

  17. Any of the 12 or 14 size.
    Interesting blog.

  18. […] Posts Vote for the Font of Your ChoiceScope it Out. Floss, Brush and Wash — Forget the BoozeTired of Sudoku? Want some ‘Square Wisdom’? […]

  19. I mailed this once, but I was told I couldn’t get there from here. Gremblins, absolutely!

    Arial 14
    The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog 1234567890

    Imogene

  20. Arial 14, thanks for asking. I have bad vision, the bigger, the bolder the letters are make it easier for me to read the posts.

  21. I dislike the way your blog looked in Luicida Sans 14. There is not enough vertical space between the lines and they look all jammed together.

Leave a Reply

