Responses to Blog Topics of Discussion

2teachOn December 6, I posted a poll to see what topics of discussion my readers may be interested in seeing on the blog. To review the topics click here.

Here are the results you have voted for.

discussiontopic1discussiontopic2

I have received many emails stating surprise at the responses. I’m glad I did the poll since I had not anticipated the results as well. So, we have it and I will try to use the top 10 responses as a guide. There were 9 ‘other’ responses which were basically variations of the topics already listed.

I’m curious to hear your comments on the results.

Ah. Speaking of “2 Teach is 2 Touch Lives 4 Ever,” I learned a new word last evening while reading. The word is dastard.

Pronunciation: \ˈdas-tərd\
Function: noun
Etymology: Middle English
Date: 15th century
1 : coward
2 : a person who acts treacherously or underhandedly

Not only am I glad that I still have periods of time where I can still concentrate to read, but to also have the ability to recognize a new word. This one will be an easy one to remember. Actually, I thought that the word had been misspelled in the book. Good for a laugh I guess.   icon_lol

Warmly…………..David

4 Responses

  1. Thanks so much for your blog. My father has dementia among other things.

    Your blog is a blessing to me. I really appreciate it.

    So you see you have helped one person. You have helped me.

  2. I do not know if you got my previous comment.

    I just wanted to thank you for your blog.

    You have helped one person. Me!

    My father has dementia and is bi-polar. Well the dementia is for sure the bi-polar, maybe. You see me father is a veteran. He is a former USA pilot and has been in three wars.

    I really appreciate your information because the doctors are not very forthcoming in their information. It is like they say there is so much wrong that it is hard to know where to begin.

    You have been a lot of help to me. Thank you for your courage and honesty.

    By the way, is this blog helping you any?

    As for dastard, well when I taught English, a fellow English teacher told me that there was no such word as meddle or meddling. I looked it up in the dictionary and there is. The students were using the word as intended too. I just thought you would enjoy this bit of humor.

  3. David,

    I’m glad to see that “Perspectives of People with Dementia” came out so high in your poll. These perspectives are often brushed off, but I think all of us can learn from them.

    Mona

  4. What are your top 10 choices? Perhaps you’ve stated it before and I missed your response.

    Not sure of my responses, however I do know the top 3 were in my top 3 choices, I definitely agree with the number 1 choice.

    I am trying to determine the particulars of donating my brain after my death, because I’m trying to put my affairs in order while I can, so that was probably further up on my list. Being a control freak has it advantages and disadvantages:)

    Interesting word/definition for dastard. Pondering if a dastard could be a cowardly person who acts or appears to act treacherously and underhandedly. It seems like 2 different meanings for 1 word. I’m more familiar with the 2nd definition rather then the first definition.

    Also wondering what book would have the word “dastard” in it.

Leave a Reply

