Merry Christmas and Happy Hanukkah

We celebrated our Christmas yesterday since Chad will be in the hospital on Christmas day. He gave me a prepaid TracPhone. It’s a nifty little cell phone which has no contract  and no bills.  You just buy minutes ahead of time to use when you wish. It was very thoughtful. Instead of adding me onto our cell phone family plan with Verizon, it is cheaper for me to use this. I only need it when I go out with Pam. She makes me stay right by her side when we go grocery shopping or into any store since she doesn’t want me wandering away. Now I can have some “freedom” and we can use my cell phone to communicate.


hanakkuhHappy Hanukkah to all of my Jewish friends. This year Chanukah is celebrated December 21-29. The 8-day festival of light that begins on the eve of Kislev 25 celebrates the triumph of light over darkness, of purity over adultertion and of spirituality over materiality.


bells-2

Here is a picture of little ornament bells which I crocheted and put into our Christmas presents this year. Very simple to do but yet from our heart.


A few questions which some have been asking about. Yes. I do have a driver’s license and am permitted to drive. However, I think it would be foolish for me to drive even if just down the street for a cup of coffee. Yes, it would boost my self-esteem but why would I put others and myself at risk? I know some people with dementia and parkinsonian symptoms do drive but that’s on them.

And Chad is our son. He’s 27 and works as a banker. He’s having his gastric bypass surgery tomorrow morning at 10 AM. We have to be there by 8 AM. Need to rise and shine early……….I used to get up at 5:30 AM every morning. Don’t know how I did it. So, if you believe in prayer, please say one for Chad for tomorrow. He is supposed to be in the hosptial for 3-4 days. Hopefully not any longer.

I probably won’t be posting for a few days since Pam and I will be having long days at the hospital.


May the Love, Peace, and Joy of Christmas be Yours Always.

Love came down on Christmas Day so many years ago and brought the greatest happiness the world would ever know…

Peace came down on Christmas Day to fill the hearts of men with all the sweet tranquility each Christmas brings again…

Joy came down on Christmas Day as angels came to earth heralding the miracle of our Messiah’s birth.

A Christmas Prayer

Loving Father, help us remember the birth of Jesus,that we may share in the song of the angels, the gladness of the shepherds, and the worship of the wise men. Let kindness come with every gift, and good desires with every greeting. Deliver us from evil by the blessings which Christ brings, and teach us to be merry with clear hearts.  Amen

Robert Louis Stevenson

I love you gals and guys — Marry Christmas and Happy Holidays to All!

…David

2 Responses

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onMerry Christmas and Happy Hanukkah « A Diary of a Psychiatrist …Here’s a quick excerptA Christmas Prayer. Loving Father, help us remember the birth of Jesus,that we may share in the song of the angels, the gladness of the shepherds, and the worship of the wise men. Let kindness come with every gift, and good desires with … […]

  2. Dear David, what a beautiful poem and thoughts you posted!
    Yes, I do believe in prayer, and have been praying for Chad that he may have a fast recovery and the surgery may be a success in solving his problem; and also for you and Pam. I hope you’ll let us know how he is doing.
    I know the Lord IS our Shepperd, and what a difference does that make!
    HAPPY NEW YEAR!
    My love to you and Pam,
    Raquel

Leave a Reply

