New Year’s Eve and HOPE

First of all, I am not at all offended by the recent comments from Miranda. Bless you Imogene for trying to protect me. I openly welcome all opinions and comments. I don’t intend this blog to be about who is right or wrong. So, Miranda, you do not need to apologize for expressing your opinions. I personally think that both of you are right in your own way. All opinions cause us to stop and think about how others view their world. I find it very enlightening and educational. Sometimes, just being quiet and listening to other people is worth a college education! So keep your comments coming along.

There was a post on the LBD Caregivers Yahoo Group today about Final Wishes Planner. I was pleasantly surprised to look at the website — very helpful, indeed. I plan to print it out for both Pam and me. I’d highly recommend it for anyone. It never hurts to have things written out in advance. If an emergency happens, the planner has done all the work for us ahead of time!

So New Year’s Eve is here. It’s interesting how we celebrate the passage of time. The New Year, birthdays, the “time is money concept, etc.” Basically, tomorrow is simply another day as time continues to pass.

But many of us tend to fret and worry over time and tend to lose hope. We find ourselves trying to muster up hope for the future. But this is human hope. That kind of hope is in limited quantity, and when it runs out, you are left drained, discouraged, disappointed and …hopeless! It may masquerade as “hope,” but it is completely different from the hope that God provides. God’s hope renews and refreshes. It empowers, uplifts, and strengthens. God’s hope does not disappoint! There is an unlimited supply of God’s hope.

“Father, You are the God of all wonderful, everlasting hope. Your Word tells us that those who hope in You will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, and they will walk and not be faint. Please help me always put my hope in You and You alone. Thank You that with You all things are possible. I pray that all will place their HOPE in You and You alone …”

Warmly………..David Thomas

4 Responses

  1. David, Pam, and Chad
    A Happy New Year to all of you. May this year bring happiness and good things into your life.
    Love and kisses Helene

  2. Another “planning” document every person facing terminal illnesses should have access to is “The Five Wishes,” available for downloading at:
    http://www.agingwithdignity.org/5wishes.pdf

  3. Thank you, David, for the Final Planner info. That’s something I need to do. My mother planned everything ahead of time so we wouldn’t have to do it all and it is comforting to know that all is ready when her time comes. I’d like to do the same for my family.
    Have a fantastic 2009!
    Barbara

  4. Happy New Year for David and for the rest of the community.
    God bless your open mindedness, David!.

    I understand you get your dementia episodes, but the rest of the time you seemed as clear to me as the rest of us.
    I am so glad that my assumptions on your clarity of mind are confirmed.

Leave a Reply

