How much Vitamin D should you take?

Inge commented on the vitamin D blog yesterday:

This is a very interesting article. I knew about the B12 and have read about folic acid also helping but never vitamin D!

I wonder what the dementia rate is for people in the the northern U.S. is since they have dark winters also?

The article doesn’t say how much vitamin D to take so how do you know if you are getting enough?

There has been a lot of controversy over the last year or so about the minimal daily requirements for vitamin D. But the census seems to be that all along the recommended dose has been too low.

I did some research to see what the current thoughts are at this time. For people over 50, they recommend a minimum of 400-800 IU/day. For what they call “older people,” they recommend at least 600-800 IU/day. This certainly makes sense to me since many of us don’t get outdoors much. Those individuals who are home bound or in care facilities probably get very little sunlight which produces vitamin D in our system naturally.

I used to make sure I took at least 400 IU/day. Since the controversy, I’ve started to take around 800 IU/day. Occasionally I take an extra 400 IU/day on real dark cloudy days.

Who knows? Maybe it does help us more than we realize. Would my dementia be worse with less vitamin D? I don’t know but I don’t think I want to take a chance.

Now, we go back to that question about the cost of a burger and cookie which I posted last week. If you haven’t tried it yet, go for it. Post your answer in the COMMENT section. I’ll give a special gift to those who get the correct answer. And NO cheating or having someone else help you!  icon_biggrin-copy Deadline for submission of your answers will be next Tuesday, January 27th, 2009. Good luck and enjoy playing around with it.

Warmly………David

5 Responses

  1. Whew!
    First try is $2.75 but I will check my numbers again!

  2. I also came up with $2.75.

  3. I would also like to say that knowing a little algebra was helpful in figuring out this puzzle.

  4. I figured out $2.75 too. No algebra here (I’ve forgotten all), pure logic.

  5. David,
    Thank you for your research on this subject. I know that I fall into the not enough category. Now that I know how much to take, I can rectify this post haste.

Leave a Reply

