Can’t come up with a good title today

I want to thank Michelle for her nicely worded comment which she posted today under the Pink Elephant blog. It is also listed on the right side of this page under ‘recent comments’. It is sure to make an impact on some o my readers. Thanks, Michelle.

Well, it was a quiet weekend. I drove today to get my allergy injection. Of course, Pam was my co-pilot. We then went to Walmart for some necessities. When we left, I actually felt fatigued. Guess I need to work on getting some more exercise. So much for my exciting life over the past week!

This is an article I saw. Having lived in Pittsburgh, PA for many years, I am quite familiar with this hospital. It is very unusual for something like this to happen at this facility. They have very high standards. I feel very bad for her family. And, guess what? If she had not been demented she probably would not have even been able to find the unlocked door! It’s amazing how dementia can literally take people to strange places.

AP PITTSBURGH—The Pennsylvania Department of Health has cited a Pittsburgh hospital where an 89-year-old dementia patient died after wandering onto the roof

A short post today. But, stay tuned. Tomorrow I’ll post some thoughts which have some truth and some sarcasm. Yep, I can be sarcastic at times. But then, who isn’t??

Warmly………David


2 Responses

  1. Hi David,

    I read Michelle’s Letter under pink Elephants and it made me feel so good, because the things she said is exactly what I already do. I am that type of person. I love everyone and show it.

    David, it is natural for a person to feel fatigued after an outing and especially when you drive. I was told that the stress of using your brain when you have LBD is so difficult that it fatigues a person.

    Also, that LBD patients can’t use depth perception well. They wait too late to start applying the breaks on a car and have near accidents. They also can’t tell how fast other vehichels are moving, Nor can they use good judgement in tight situations on the highway.

    Don, couldn’t decide which way he wanted to go, and had very near accidents several times. I was so glad when he recognized he was acting dangerously on the highway. He handed me the keys and said he did not want to be responsible for anyone being hurt or killed. I was so proud of him.

    You have a great deal of insight because of your being a phyciatrist. Knowing what you do, means you are an especially brave person.

    Many of us look forward to your post,

    Keep smiling,
    Imogene

  2. David,
    I also read Michelle’s comment. What great advice for anyone who is a caregiver.

    My grandmother seems to have an internal clock. If I am late she knows. If I miss a day she knows. It is funny, I am her favorite and she doesn’t know my name but she knows when I am to be there:)

    I read the Pittsburgh article and am not surprised sad to say. You are starting to see and hear more and more about the decline of quality of care and poor records keeping procedures. I don’t know if this has always been the case and it was just well hidden, or if the people in charge are just not doing the job as well. Being overworked constantly will eventually take its toll on anyone.

    Hopefully, this is a situation that has been rectified permanently and no other family will have to suffer the same sad circumstances as Mrs. Diggs’ family has.

Leave a Reply

