“A Reality Jolt” or “Go with the Flow?” And a little of Sudoku

Barbara submitted the following yesterday:

Validate reality: “we have to constantly remind them of reality.”…..I had training in dealing with Dementia but it was conflicting info that I received. One teacher would tell us to “go with the flow” with whatever the elder was thinking or doing–that to jolt them back to reality would only confuse them further or scare them. The other teacher taught us the above method–validate the reality. So, which is correct???

I think this has been a controversial topic over the years. Remember that the article yesterday is only the author’s opinion.

I’ve always been taught to try to get the demented individual back to reality. Here’s what Pam, Chad and I have agreed to:

Whenever I seem to be off base, they will try to correct me and tell me the “real” thing. If I accept it, then wonderful. But if I seem to become argumentative, then they will just let me go with my thoughts which tend to cause all of us less stress. The exception is anything that would cause me or others to be in danger.

Everyone is different and there are always situations which are different. My opinion is to do what is in the best interest of the individual first followed by what is in the best interest of the caregiver second.

 

Let’s sudoku today. This is a very EASY one. Here’s a step-by-step Soduko TUTORIAL!  Print today’s puzzle and follow along with the tutorial.

 

 

 

 

7

 

 

 

9

 

 

 

9

 

3

 

 

6

 

8

 

 

6

 

 

4

3

2

7

 

 

 

 

3

6

 

 

 

2

 

 

7

 

 

5

 

 

 

8

5

 

 

 

 

7

9

8

1

 

 

7

 

 

6

 

4

 

 

9

 

2

 

 

 

6

 

 

 

5

 

 

 

 

Warmly………David

4 Responses

  1. Thank you David! That makes a lot of sense to me. It will be my ‘credo’ from now on. 🙂

  2. Here is my comment (for whatever is worth). To me, it’s GOOD SENSE not to stress about not being able to do something. You don’t need to prove anything to yourself. Just by coming back to your blog you know that you are not giving up. By my own experience with my husband I know that stress is not a good companion -not for people with LBD, neither for healthy people.
    When you don’t feel like writting, could Pam or Chad post just a line in our website letting us know so we won’t be worrying about you?
    Keep up that beautiful smile!
    Raquel

  3. I enjoy your blog, and your links as well. I admire your willingness to share your experiences. As a nurse I’ve been taught lots of different strategies over the years, in terms of how to deal with confusions about reality. Finding terms and strategies that are comfortable for you and your family are key – and your guidelines seem quite sensible. For me the key item is to remember to notice and respond to the emotion that the person is experiencing/expressing, esp. when sorting out a factual correction is not obvious or easy to do.

  4. […] is the answer to the sudoku puzzle which I posted the other […]

Leave a Reply

