Friday the 13th. REM Sleep Behavior Disorder and Sudoku Answer

I’ve been dealing with some strange symptoms this week. The REM sleep behavior disorder came back with a roar. I awakened last night and ended up staying up for about 1/2 hour. The nightmare was so strong that I couldn’t get it out of my mind. I actually was afraid to go back to sleep but did give in. The rest of the night was OK. This week has been weird. I’ve felt sleepy, apathetic, amotivated and just dull. But I haven’t felt depressed. At first I thought maybe SAD was catching up with me. But today I feel just fine. So Pam and I are going out to get some staples. (Oops, that’s the word we used growing up which means buying the necessary groceries to tie you over.)

Yes, it’s a good idea. I’m going to show Pam how to write a post to the blog. I never gave it much thought that anyone would be worrying. But since I usually blog everyday, it probably makes sense to do it.

The main symptom of REM sleep behavior disorder is dream-enacting behaviors, sometimes violent, causing self-injury or injury to the bed partner.

The dream-enacting behaviors are usually nondirected and may include punching, kicking, leaping, or jumping from bed while still asleep.

The person may be awakened or may wake spontaneously during the attack and vividly recall the dream that corresponds to the physical activity.

Here is the answer to the sudoku puzzle which I posted the other day. 

4

3

6

7

5

2

1

9

8

2

1

9

4

3

8

7

6

5

8

7

5

6

1

9

4

3

2

7

5

4

2

8

3

6

1

9

6

2

3

9

7

1

8

5

4

1

9

8

5

6

4

3

2

7

9

8

1

3

3

7

5

4

6

5

4

7

1

9

6

2

8

3

3

6

2

8

4

5

9

7

1

Thanks to all who have expressed concerned. Have a great weekend!

Warmly………David

2 Responses

  1. Hello David,

    Very sorry to hear you are having REM troubles. Dad has had very bad REM problems for years. It’s the nightmares…horrible, horrible dreams that are the worst part. It’s awful to hear him scream out, so very distressing. I have actually noticed the past few nights Dad has left a lamp on in his room. I’m not 100 % sure why. I thought it was to help him not be disorientated when he wakes up through night but perhaps it also helps if he wakes from a nightmare.

    I hope you have some lovely, peaceful sleep. Lots of best wishes.

  2. ¡Happy Valentines, David and Pam!
    That REM disorder is awful. It made Sherman fall out of bed several times. He was also kicking and throwing punches, but I am a light sleeper and I learned very quickly to catch his hand in the air before it landed on my face or other part of my body. Sometimes he would remember the nightmare, other times he wouldn’t even know it happened.
    I think it’ll be wonderful if Pam would also post. And yes, we WORRY when we don’t hear from you. I’m sure I’m talking for everybody in our group.
    I wish you joy on this day, and a peaceful night.
    ¡Feliz día del amor!
    Raquel

Leave a Reply

