What’s your Opinion on President Obama’s executive order on Stem Cell Research?

stemcell2

Today, President Barack Obama cleared the way for a significant increase in federal dollars for embryonic stem cell research and promised no scientific data will be "distorted or concealed to serve a political agenda."

This will help those with dementia, Parkinson’s disease, diabetes, spinal cord injuries, etc.

What do you think about it. Share your opinion with all of us!

Warmly………David

FREE Subscription to My Blog

RATE My Blog

Alphainventions

6 Responses

  1. Hooray for more stem-cell research.In my family we have type 1 and type 2 diabetes,M.S.,Alzheimers and L.B.D. with Parkinsonism.Great news especially for 16 year old Grandson who developed type 1 diabetes at 7yrs old.

    Jackie

  2. Hi David,

    I am very pleased that President Obama is opening the discussion on stem cell research. The information that may result from this type of research is invaluable for those individuals and their families. It gives hope where, for some, there has been little.

    I do not think this is an issue of religion but rather one of science. Throughout the years some facets of organized have been against many new ideas but those ideas have, with time, generally been accepted. Remember, there was a time in history when it was illegal to do an autopsy and scientists had to pay grave robbers to find out about the structure and process of the human body.

    Hope is a gift.

    Char

  3. I’m in favor of the research. I respect that others have a different opinion, but too many people are suffering from these horrible diseases and we need to find a cure. Many scientists say this is the best way to do the research. We have to think about the people who are currently alive and suffering.

  4. Three hoorays for the move! I think it was time for some intelligent person to promote this type of research that can change the lives of so many people.
    On the other hand, I don’t understand what people against it say about “respecting life”. It’s discarding in the garbage the embryos not used “respecting life”? I’m sure there will be limitations and careful supervision to prevent abuses.
    I am all for it!
    As a doctor and a Christian, what do YOU think, David?
    A friendly hug,
    Raquel

  5. Hi David,

    Thank goodness Obama is your President. Smart man.

    The future will be more promising because of his decision and generations to come will reap the benefits.

    Last year I listened on the radio to the Australian parliament debate ammendments to our embryonic stem cell research law. It was wonderful to hear so many learned views and concerns. Societies, now have so much knowledge coupled with great ethical and philosphical debate that I personally was quite moved and proud listening to my government debate the very complex issues. So much good can come from this research, as I said, smart man.

    If only he could overhaul your health and care system. Perhaps he will.

    cheers

  6. I am all for it!!! My best friends father died of ALS in September and my husband suffers from Binswangers Disease, which is a form of dementia. There are so many different disorders that this can help. I know it won’t help my husband but it may help so many others.

Leave a Reply

