Maybe it was unconscious

Hi to all. I just spent the last 3 hours doing up a draft with my comments and opinions on the Embryonic Stem Cell debate.

I saved the rough draft  every couple of minutes the entire time. When I went to publish it, I somehow managed to hit the delete button twice which wiped it away permanently.

So, rather than to get upset, I will take it that it just wasn’t supposed to be. Maybe it was a real unconscious action, who knows. Ha ha.

There will be another day and I’ll start all over from scratch.

David

6 Responses

  1. Commiserations – we’ve all done it!

    There are perhaps some saving graces, in my experience, though. It generally takes me far less time to produce a new version, I’m surprised how much I remember of what I wote before, and the end result is usually shorter.

    I would be interested in your views on the Embryonic Stem Cell debate so I do hope you have another go.

  2. Hi David,

    I have those days too…I once emailed my CEO a personal email not meant for him and I didn’t realise till he made a smirky comment and it jelled and I froze and wanted the proverbial hole to appear.

  3. I’ve just come across a website – via Dr Deb’s blog – where you can have a lot of good clean fun just playing – see

    http://artpad.art.com/?kgf6nu1nes2c

    I thought you might enjoy it for a laugh.

    Let’s see what you can come up with!

    • Very clever, huh.

  4. I’m sorry, David. Did you get my laughing stuff today? I hope it helped you forget your mishap. I have had so many of those…
    The worse happened when we first moved to Houston. I didn’t know a thing about PC’s; in the office we just had a system that sent everything to a main brain and somebody made a back up tape every night. So, when I got my first job -same office, free lance work- I worked all day and saved at night. Next day, again, all day at work and when I wanted to save it, the PC asked me “Replace it?” Of course, I DID NOT want to replace the job that had taken me all that time, so I hit NO. After the third NO, the PC turned off. You guessed it -the next morning there was NOTHING of the work I had done the previous day! And it was a financial manual with terms I had never in my life encountered before. I just threw myself on the floor and cried like a baby; then I went back to work.
    Your mistake was involuntary, mine was due to being totally computer-impaired. I’ve learned a few things since then.
    It’ll be very interesting to read what you know about the subject. I guess you are PRO research, are you???
    Have a good Friday!
    Raquel

  5. I’m SO sympathetic to your frustration. And the ability to do something so quickly that you don’t mean. It happens to me and I hate to say it, but it’s nice to know it happens to others too!
    I do hope you’ll give it another try, as I’d be interested in your thoughts. Sometimes they get better when you have to do it twice. But it doesn’t feel that way when it happens….
    sue

Leave a Reply

