The mind is not a vessel to be filled but a fire to be kindled

The last week has been a busy and interesting one.

We’ve spent several days out and about looking at more trees, plants and shrubs. Thanks to Mary Francis Poe for pointing out that I need to have different species of blueberries for pollination. I didn’t know that so we bought a few more varieties. Mary is Dr. Hoe Poe’s wife. He is an anesthesiologist with whom I worked in California. They truly are supportive and loyal friends. Thanks Mary Francis for the advice!

Pam’s brother built our home and did the landscaping in front of the house. So this Spring he’s going to landscape the backyard and the street side of the house. Just can’t wait to start planting some of the plants. Hostas, ferns and ground cover in the shade near the side of the garage. I’ve have to take some pictures of everything after all is planted and blooming.

We had Pam’s brother’s family — Doug, Heather & Gunner over for dinner on Saturday. Tuesday was another long fun day. Pam had her thyroid biopsy down at Passavant Hospital in the North Hills area of Pittsburgh.

I guess the long busy days finally caught up with me. Yesterday, I was foggy most of the day and had a lot of trouble remembering things. Simple things. Needless to say I felt very tired. I’m just out of shape, that’s all.

I’ve noticed another problem beginning to surface. Over the past week I’ve had at least 3 episodes of wetting the bed at night. Will definitely need to keep an eye open on this one. No signs of urinary tract infection. Will monitor it and watch liquid intake before bedtime.

 

"The mind is not a vessel to be filled but a fire to be kindled."

White Lie Joke

— M. M.

I am five feet, three inches tall and pleasingly plump. After I had a minor accident, my mother accompanied me to the emergency room.
The triage nurse asked for my height and weight, and I blurted out, "Five-foot-eight and 125 pounds."
While the nurse pondered this information, my mother leaned over to me. "Sweetheart," she gently chided, "this is not the Internet."

Warmly………David

FREE Subscription to My Blog

RATE My Blog

Alphainventions

4 Responses

  1. Hello David,

    Oh! how wonderful your garden will be. Hoping Pam’s biopsy reveals everything is ok.

    I’m sure you are aware of this but thought I’d mention it anyway. I took Dad to an incontinence clinic and I was told to make sure he drank plenty of water throughout the day. That as people get older or if unwell their ‘making urine mechanism’ can go haywire and the person ends up making more through the night than the day. Keeping up the water intake helps the body to make the urine throughout the day and if Dad doesn’t have his few glasses of water…well, I certainly remember to give them to him the following day.

    I’m going out to potter around re-potting some plants if ‘daughter who has too much homework’ but is a lot stronger than me would carry in the potting mix from the car for me.

  2. Loved the joke 🙂 LOL The garden sounds wonderful. I hope you’ll put some of the pictures on the site 🙂 I love lush green gardens. My grandma and I each did a side yard all full of green vines and plants, tangled and mysterious and inviting. LOVED it! 🙂

  3. Oh I wish I could have a garden but an upstairs apartment does not accommodate such a venture.

    By the way, I’m moving my blog to a new one. If you care to you can bookmark it here….

    http://seniorsafari.wordpress.com/

  4. Dear David, how wonderful that you have been busy with landscaping! Gardening is a rewarding activity. Unfortunately, I don’t have a house anymore; but I do have a very nice deck/balcony in which I keep a lot of planters with flowers and herbs. A few days ago, I was thrilled to find out that my Hydrangea -planted in large wooden pot- is sprouting. I was afraid it wouldn’t survive the winter.
    We also have community gardens in our condo complex, and I’m planning on planting vegetables and tomatoes again.
    What’s good with spring is that it’s a reminder that no matter how severe and cold and gray the winter has been, the sun always comes out again and trees and shrubs and flowers revive.
    Have a warm and sunny day!
    Raquel

Leave a Reply

