Dysphasia — Choking and Coughing and a Smile for your Face

 

Thanks to the several reminders from readers who have weighed in on choking and coughing. This phenomena is known as dysphasia. I’m not sure why I forgot to describe this in more detail. Guess I’m too focused on dementia and no longer thinking clinically. Dysphasia is unfortunately very common in the elderly. Anyone can experience it from time to time as well. So it is not limited to just dementia. Thanks for the reminders.

Something less serious today:

Apparently the American Medical Association has weighed in on the new economic stimulus package….

The Allergists voted to scratch it,

but the Dermatologists advised not to make any rash moves.

The Gastroenterologists had sort of a gut feeling about it,

but the Neurologists thought the Administration had a lot of nerve.

The Obstetricians felt they were all laboring under a misconception.

Ophthalmologists considered the idea shortsighted.

Pathologists yelled, "Over my dead body!" while the

Pediatricians said,’Oh, Grow up!’

The Psychiatrists thought the whole idea was madness, while the

Radiologists could see right through it.

Surgeons decided to wash their hands of the whole thing. The Internists thought it was a bitter pill to swallow, and the

Plastic Surgeons said, "This puts a whole new face on the matter."

The Podiatrists thought it was a step forward,

but the Urologists were pissed off at the whole idea.

The Anesthesiologists thought the whole idea was a gas, and the

Cardiologists didn’t have the heart to say no.

In the end, the Proctologists won out, leaving the entire decision up to the a**holes in Washington

 

Warmly………David

FREE Subscription to My Blog

 

12 Responses

  1. This is hailarious. David you have a real sense of humor.
    Thank you for this day brightener.
    I love you and your Blog. But alas! David I must leave for a while as I have to close down the computer, and TV. When I get situated again, I will resume seeing what you have for the day. I could not get the Unsubscribe page to work for me.

    Keep on keeping on David. You are a real inspiration to many of us, and we are gaining insight through your personal experiences.

    Thank you for a wonderful Blog, with love,
    Imogene

  2. I love this last part of this entry. Evidently your sense of humor is doing fine. Do you feel as though writing this blog is helping you?

    • Anonymous says: I love this last part of this entry. Evidently your sense of humor is doing fine. Do you feel as though writing this blog is helping you?

      Abolutely yes. I’ve gone back through and have read some of the older posts while comparing my thoughts and feelings then versus now. Sometime I’ll have to blog about that.

      Thanks for the idea…………..David

  3. Hi David,

    It’s so good to have a laugh. Very witty.

  4. Hi David – just thought I’d let you know that my second meeting with my brother’s psychaitrist went well. I took your advice to “Just be yourself” and it worked well. We covered a lot of ground. I learnt a lot, my brother was able to talk about his symptoms and how he’s coping, and I came away confident that my brother is in good hands. It seems that two months of unbelievable stress, combined with not eating properly and not sleeping properly, have not done him any good at all. They may not be the entire cause, but definitely have not helped. I wonder how many people realise that being subjected to extreme levels of stress and pressure can cause pyschiatric syptoms which don’t necessarily go away when the situation changes? I suspect the general public needs more education on the risks – at least in the UK. Would you agree? Did you see many patients with avoidable environmentally-induced psychiatric conditions?

  5. ps Sorry for all the misspellings. I rely heavily on spell checkers when I type emails and other documents. So when I make blog comments with no spell checker lots of mistakes get through.

  6. David, can you hear my resounding laughs from Argentina? Here I am since yesterday and you have already made my day (it’s 1:15 AM).
    I agree with the others in admiring your sense of humor and I don’t have any doubt about it helping you. God bless you for what you are doing for others!
    From down South, with love,
    Raquel

  7. Hi David,

    Just a hi and hoping you and Pam are doing ok, enjoying your nice weather.

  8. Great perspective, but just as with the rest of us, our attitude is governed by how it affects us. Just like our loved ones who live with the debilitating effects of the vast array of dementia.

  9. Hope you’re doing okay David! Haven’t heard from you in a week and that’s just weird!

  10. Hi David,

    Great post. It sure put a smile on my face.

    I’m a physician and former faculty member at Harvard and Stanford Medical Schools. I discovered your blog while looking for the best health writers on the web. I reviewed your posts, and think your writing would be a great addition to the General Medicine Community on Wellsphere, a top 5 health website that has nearly 5 million visitors monthly. If you would like to learn more about how you can join our Health Blogger Network, republish your blog posts and be featured on the Wellsphere platform, just drop me an email at dr.rutledge@wellsphere.com.

    Cheers,
    Geoff

  11. David – my computer has been in the shop for weeks and is not fixable so it is stressing along. I noticed that you are not posting as often, unless I missed some, but is there something going on? I hope not! Best, Hope

Leave a Reply

