Nice rainy day to blog

We’re finally having some slow, gentle rain. It’s been fairly dry over the last 7-10 days. It gives a little break to be indoors to catch up on other things.

I’ve been reading through the earlier entries of the blog. I’m glad I started the blog and its purpose has served me well. I’ve actually forgotten much of the information which I posted. It has given me a good perspective of where I was and where I am now.

Overall, there are improvements in the REM sleep behavioral disorder, overall sleep patterns, tremors and some of the Parkinsonian features. I still have some tremors but not as severe. And I still have difficulty thinking of the right words. Sometimes I can picture the item in my mind but don’t know what to call it. We have a large red toolbox in the garage. All I could think of yesterday was “that big red thing in the garage.” It’s fine with Chad and Pam but not particularly helpful when speaking with others. Short term and immediate memory could be better. However, since I don’t need to work and to perform, it doesn’t present that much of a problem for me on a daily basis at home.

We had a nice relaxing vacation for 4 days. Came home to rest and relax. I’ve always been intrigued by that. We fantasize about going away but then have to come home to pull it together again.  Ha, ha.

After a few days of vegging, we started again with the landscaping and gardening. We’ve pretty much finished up yesterday with most of what we wanted to do. We’ll see how things grow and bloom this year. Where there are gaps or room for improvement, we can add/subtract next Spring. I can see how landscaping and gardening is a work in progress which adds to the pleasure of it. The most difficult for me was digging through rocks and pure clay in order to plant the tomatoes and peppers. It needed a lot of compost, soil amendments, etc. Should be better by next year. The tomatoes already have some blooms on them.

Chad just finished up 2 of his vacation weeks which he enjoyed. He used part of it to help Pam and I with the garage. When we left California, it was so abrupt and quick. We had no time to even think of getting rid of anything. Especially not knowing anything about where and how we would live. So we shipped all of our items from CA to PA. Our new home is now about 1/2 the size of the house in CA. So we’ve lived all winter with our 2-car garage jammed with good furniture, etc.

We’d hoped to have things ready for a garage sell by this past Memorial Day weekend but that didn’t pan out. So we should be ready in 2-3 weeks. I’ve posted many of the bigger ticket items on Craig’s list as well as the local online classified. We’d never be able to get anywhere near to their worth at a garage sell. We’ve already sold some in just hours after the postings to Craig’s list.

With all of the digging, working and moving about over the past 2 months, I’ve managed to lose 11#. Hopefully, that will continue. Am considering getting a pedal exerciser to keep up exercise over next winter. I definitely had too many carbs this past winter. No room for a regular exercise bike.

While on vacation, I went to sit on a stool to eat lunch and quickly lost my balance. Before I could even realize what was happening, I found myself on the floor on my back with my legs up in the air. Fortunately, I didn’t hurt myself, but it shook me up a shade. For a minute, I was a little confused and dazed while the head shaking and arm/hand tremors took over. There were several nice folks who came to my rescue. In retrospect, it was kind of funny. Once I was on the floor, I could seem to get my muscles and coordination in sync. I was just there on the floor but couldn’t seem to roll over and get myself up. Now I know what that TV commercial means, “I’ve fallen and I can’t get up!”

I hope all is well with everyone out there in cyberspace.

Enough for now. Need to get ready to go for an allergy injection.

Later………….David

5 Responses

  1. Sounds like you had quite the exciting vacation. Sending good thoughts your way – good luck with the garage sale! wish it were raining here in california, we had about 3 days of 100 + degree weather and now we’re back in the 80’s….but not rain.

  2. Western Kansas is often in some state of drought but today we had a soft, soaking rain off and on all day long. The temperature has dropped to the mid-40’s and with rain and lots of air movement, it’s down-right cold. 1.5 inches of rain is a gully-washer around here. My spirits are always lifted by the rain. The smell of rain is one of life’s sweet pleasures.
    My husband’s LBD seems to be on a parallel course with your own experiences. He was diagnosed in March of 2009 but was dealing with things for a few years before seeing his physician.
    Keep that spring planting going. There’s something about blooming things….

  3. Hello David,

    Sounds like you have had a hectic couple of years with moving etc and recently you’ve been so busy, gardening and re-organising and selling furniture; no wonder you have shed some kilos.
    Its wonderful you had a nice holiday and that your garden is beginning to show signs of produce.

    Lots of best wishes to you, Pam and Chad.

  4. Fall is an ideal time to add new plants- they have the winter to settle in and be ready for Spring plus you can get really good deals on perrenials and bushes. You’ll want to plant be early November so they’ll have time to settle beforethe ground freezes.
    Enjoy!
    Sharon

  5. Hi there, Popped in to see how you were doing and thoroughly enjoyed perusing your posts 🙂

    I could so relate about the moving and the downsizing. God keeps doing that with my mom and me. We keep weeding out and then we weed some more. It’s hard at times, but overall, it’s also quite freeing. 🙂

    You and your family continue to be in my prayers. Have a blessed week! 🙂

    Kaye

Leave a Reply

