I am thankful….

I am thankful….
For the taxes that I pay,
Because it means that I am employed.

For the mess to clean after a party,
Because it means that I have been surrounded by friends.

For a lawn that needs mowing,
Windows that need cleaning,
And gutters that need fixing,
Because it means that I have a home.

For the parking spot I find at the far end of the parking lot,
Because it means I am capable of walking
And that I have been blessed with transportation.

Or my huge heating bill
Because it means I am warm.

For the lady behind me in church that sings off key,
Because it means that I can hear.

For the pile of laundry and ironing,
Because it means I have clothes to wear.

For weariness and aching muscles at the end of the day,
Because it means I have been capable of working hard.

For the alarm that goes off in the early morning hours,
Because it means that I am alive.

And finally…….
For all the e-mails I receive each day,
Because it means I have friends who think of me.

4 Responses

  1. David, Wonderful list of things to be thankful for – the list could go on and on, and I am personally trying very hard, when I start complaining or feeling sorry for myself, to turn it around and look for something in the situation to be grateful for. I want to be known as a person with an Attitude of Gratitude !!! And I’m beginning to see that living in the moment is an important aspect of this endeavor. Thank you for what you are doing – it is appreciated!! Phyllis

  2. Hi David,

    I am grateful for having my Dad, as MY Dad.

    cheers

  3. David, Feeling gratitude leads to expressing gratitude leads to doing good things leads to others feeling gratitude and I thank you for reminding me what life is all about. I am so grateful for your thoughtful web site I will do something good for someone today. God bless you.
    Caregiver Mark

  4. Thank you, David for this comment and every other in your blog. They all help us to keep our perspective on life. I especially THANK YOU for thanking the lady behind you in church, singing off-key, because that’s ME!! But I love to sing and have always in mind a old Brazilian song that said: “Off-key singers have a heart too!”

    Have a beautiful day to be thankful for!
    Raquel

Leave a Reply

