Shooting the Moon and Christmas

Such a simple thing. I’m crocheting on a basic easy easy dishcloth which has a multiple of 5 stitches using 2 of the most basic moves of all. Today, for some reason, I’m having a little bit of trouble keeping them lined up. It’s almost like there’s a small magical ghost who switches one around on me and I don’t catch it. Then after going for awhile, I realize something’s wrong and I say, “how did that happen?” To a degree that’s common in all thinks in life…….small mistakes we all make. But to have the little ghost move stitches around on ya about every 5 minutes is frustrating. Today isn’t a good day for TV either. Can’t seem to follow a simple movie……got the characters mixed up in my head this morning. But I still have hands which move, eyes to watch and some good functioning parts of my brain for which I am thankful.

Now I just don’t understand some things in life. Like shooting a rocket into the moon to see if there is hydrogen and water. Can you believe it? I’m ashamed to say that I don’t even remember why we went to the moon in the first place and all of our subsequent visits since then. And to shoot the moon—$79 million!! We did it for free when I was a kid. Just imagine what we could do with that extra money here on earth. Of course I’m thinking of humanitarian ways. But the way things are going, they’d probably just use it to give congressional leaders a raise…0we just can’t win. Right?

Now the other thing. I received an email from the American Family Association which leads you to this page:

Would you be willing to boycott stores which refuse to allow the word "Christmas" to be displayed?

Christians celebrate Christmas as the birthday of Christ. Yet there are those companies which feel that a public recognition of the birthday of Christ is not appropriate. Why? Because a few people may be offended!
Would you be willing to boycott retailers which refuse to allow the word Christmas to be displayed in their stores? Give us your answer. We will forward the results to those retailers which refuse to allow Christmas to be displayed in their stores or promotions.

And another one of their websites One company says ‘Yes’ to Christmas, and one says ‘No’. They mention both Sears and GAP. What a difference between the 2 of them on their stances.

I’ll be curious to know how many sign the petition and which company will they choose.

Warmly……….David

Only in America ……do we leave cars worth thousands of dollars in the driveway and put our useless junk in the garage.

 

siberian tiger

A picture from the San Diego zoo on our last vacation before I got sick.

3 Responses

  1. Fab pic of the tiger. What a nice visit that must have been.

    I don’t think I’d actually boycott a store as I don’t spend that much but I am annoyed at this whole thing.

  2. We attended the opera at the movies today. The music was wonderful. Three of us–there was some sleeping going on durng the first part, the music allowed this. We were awake during the rest, the music demanded it. Over all we are feeling sweet and melo after Tosca!

  3. That tiger picture is so beautiful! Thank you for posting it, David. I love cats -all kinds. My frustration in this world is that I cannot pet a magnificent cat like that. But I hope that in the world to come, where the lion and the lamb will lie together, I’ll be able to have a whole planet full of cats, all sizes and colors!
    And yes, I signed that boycott project. I don’t understand people -if they don’t believe in Christ, they don’t believe in celebrating Christmas either. What’s their problem in letting all Christians celebrate it and call it CHRISTMAS? It doesn’t offend me to see anouncements for Ramada or Hannuka or Kwanzaa or whatever other people want to celebrate and advertise.
    Warm thoughts back to you and your family,
    Raquel

Leave a Reply

