MY FORGETTER

What a way to use humor in dementia. Thanks to Kat.

 

Hello Dave

Knew you’d love this, could relate; perhaps poem for your blog someday?  Hope you’re doing well, hugs, kat

   Sent: Wednesday, October 14, 2009 12:07 AM

Subject: Fw: MY FORGETTER

 

Forgetter Be Forgotten

My forgetter’s getting better,
But my rememberer is broke
To you that may seem funny
But, to me, that is no joke

For when I’m ‘here’ I’m wondering
If I really should be ‘there’
And, when I try to think it through,
I haven’t got a prayer!

Oft times I walk into a room,
Say ‘what am I here for?’
I wrack my brain, but all in vain!
A zero, is my score.

At times I put something away
Where it is safe, but, Gee!
The person it is safest from
Is, generally, me!

When shopping I may see someone,
Say ‘Hi’ and have a chat,
Then, when the person walks away
I ask myself, ‘who the hell was that?’

Yes, my forgetter’s getting better
While my rememberer is broke,
And it’s driving me plumb crazy
And that isn’t any joke.

 

LIVE, LOVE & LAUGH A LOT

4 Responses

  1. Re: Forgetter Be Forgotten

    Love the poem, Dave! I’ll have to remember that “my forgetter’s getting better”. That sounds so much cheerier.

  2. That’s a good one, David! I’d like to send it to my local Alzheimer’s group, do I have your permission?
    Funny thing, I can relate to everything it says. So often I meet people whose faces I recognize as persons I know very well, but you could kill me and I wouldn’t remember their name. The worse part is when they start asking about my children, BY NAME, and I cannot do the same; but I do have a strategy -I ask, “And how about your family?”, and they start telling me about so-and-do graduation or marriage or divorce, and if I’m lucky I may remember their children’s names and who they are.
    And so many times I go to do something and forget why I was there. Not to mention the variety of things I have lost because I put them “in a safe place”!
    The poem brought to my memory what Sherman used to say: “I have a good forgetery”.
    Thank you for posting it! Warm thoughts,
    Raquel

    • Raquel…………….you don’t even have to ask me to use it. Feel free. However, I did not create the poem. It came in an email to me.

      David

  3. Hi David,

    Thank you for printed th epoem, it is amazing. I am going to use it the master’s cognitive psychology class that am teaching. Your blog is a gift to many of us who check-in.Thanks.

    Fondly,
    Char

Leave a Reply

